Sunday, April 6, 2014

5 year run down: year 1

So this is from the first day of medical school. I was all bright eyed, happy, and energetic... like a dog excited on a car ride to the vet not knowing he's about to be neutered. Cute pic though.

Wearing: brooks brothers pinstripe oxford, thrifted plaid tie 

Then I got super stressed with school and stopped eating or seeing daylight during first year...

Wearing: Thrifted Le Tigre v-neck sweater  and paisley skinny tie, orange gingham button down - Penguin

Wearing: black canvas bomber jacket - ZARA, fierce cheekbones - my mom

Wearing: Post-final exam face, Grey polo shirt - Ralph Lauren, v-neck sweater - Le Tigre

Wearing: an inner tube, chest ribs

Wearing: nothing that matters, tracheal cartilages

These are all super boring outfits but I figured I'd just give an update on what was going on. I pretty much lost all interest in clothing because I was constantly being told that I was dressed inappropriately. I understand things like that are expected in professional fields but they took it too far... Like, I was told I was too thin for people to take me seriously, that my clothing was equivalent to a teenage girl wearing a half top and belly button ring, and, finally, that I should buy my clothes a size too big and have them starched extra heavy so I look fatter. Needless to say... I did not heed that egregious advice. Some people are just clueless and delusional regarding their authority to dole out fashion advice. This particular professor was seriously wearing a red sweater vest with a gold chain necklace and feathered hair... in JULY. In FLORIDA. 

I'm willing to do all sorts of things to succeed as long as they are logical... like studying 12 hours a day (even on weekends), doing research in my spare time, and volunteering. Whatever, fine. But, telling me I'm not going to be a good doctor because I'm too thin and then deducting points from my final grade? That's blatantly discriminatory and rude. I'd rather drop out and have an ounce of personal integrity than go along kissing ass... I know that's what you have to do in every career but if I'm going to be kissing ass it better be someone I respect and admire. Not some bozo from alligator farm medical school of florida. 

Also, just for the record, I didn't drop out because I wasn't doing well academically... the whole situation was very complicated, long, drawn-out and annoying. Here's my year 1 transcripts just for proof because I know I can seem very air headed and dumb so it might be hard to believe I could handle the academic rigor of med school... 


Sorry for the rant. I just have a lot of feelings, OK?! Gosh lol

bye loves xoxo

No comments: